The dead bodies of Your servants

jesus_resurrection

A number of things are running through my mind —

  • I am thinking of the early missionaries who answered the call – “come and die” – many brought their own caskets with them and most did not live past one year of service.
  • I am thinking of the 3300 people groups who have never heard the name Jesus and who do not have a single word of Scripture translated into their own language because going to those people groups means certain death
  • I am thinking of the Christians in Iran
  • I am thinking of the Christians in Iraq
  • I am thinking of the Christians in northern Nigeria
  • I am thinking of the 10 disciples of Jesus and how they were martyred
  • I am thinking of the cruel death of Jesus Himself

Just as Satan must have gloated when Jesus hung on the cross, the enemies of Christ followers everywhere must love the bodies of Christians lying on the ground having suffered the loss of life because of their decision – though none will follow, I still will.

How is God receiving glory in these deaths – how did He receive glory in Jesus’ death?  How many will have to die before God steps in and says enough? Where do I count myself when it comes to delivering the gospel – am I losing my life because I am so concerned in saving it?

I am already dead, dead to sin, to myself and when I worship, I’m resurrected in Christ – a new person.  May I offer myself to Christ as those who have gone before me.  May I count all but loss, save that I may be used by Christ to bring glory to God – whether that be in life or in death.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

