Circle of quiet

ScenicBackroadNewHampshire

Cannot remember the exact time in my life, it must have been in my late teens, maybe earlier 20s when I was given a book titled, In the Centre of Quiet.

I was practicing my prayer life – up to 4 hours each day – but needed quiet and isolation.  This particular book, written by a Pentecostal, taught how to pray, quietly, by his Anglican and Catholic brothers in Christ, took the time to share and by that, mentor me in prayer.  Basically, the discipline of putting myself in God’s quiet spot no matter how loud the noise is around me.  The book changed my life.  I lent it to a family member and never saw it again and I cannot find this book no matter how I search for it.  My guess is that what I think it the title is actually the sub-title and I only remember the author’s first name, David.

When evil is all around us, when we wonder how long God will let evil progress, when we feel that people are walking over us, exploiting and abusing us and that maybe God isn’t looking – it is in the midst of that noise that our quiet spot allows us to hear.

Does the God who created the ear, not hear, does the God who shaped our eye, not see, does the Father of nations not correct, does the one who walked with Adam and taught him personally, doesn’t know — He knows all right.

How blessed we are to be trained by God, to be instructed in His Word.  He provides a circle of quiet within the clamour of evil.  He never walks away from His people, never deserts those He considers precious.  Rest assured, He is there for if He had not been there for me, I would never have made it.

The minute I said, “I’m slipping, I’m falling,” Your love, God, took hold and held me fast. When I was upset and beside myself, You calmed me down and cheered me up.

When I am in Your circle of quiet I feel that You become my hideout, my mountain retreat and that all the evil in the world is boomeranged back on those that sent it my way.

2 thoughts on “Circle of quiet

Leave a Reply

