Slippery road, Blind curve?

slippery road, blind curve

If you park your car in front of my house and there is any kind of moisture in the air, the curve which is deceiving and the wet road make for a perfect accident prone site.  We have lost a car, our neighbours who had guests stay over lost theirs, and many others found the hydro pole and lost theirs.

So when someone tells me that following God is like travelling on a slippery road or surprise, surprise when coming around a curve, I do not get it.

God is good – good to good people and good to those whose hearts are good.  It so easy to miss, miss seeing His goodness.  It happens when we are looking the other way, or looking up to other people who seem to have it all.

When this kind of thing gets me, it usually happens when I am experiencing a long run without God’s blessings – its like a get a slap in the face every time I walk out the door.

If I give in and talk like everyone else, I would have betrayed my own children as to the truth of God’s goodness.  It is hard to figure out, some of my friends get headaches just thinking about it.  I do too sometimes until I enter into God’s presence  then I see the picture – those people I have looked up to who think they are on top are actually the ones on the slippery road turning down a blind curve!

When I gave them to much of a look, I became beleaguered and bitter, totally consumed by envy – that made me ignorant like a dumb ox.  In God’s presence still, but ignorant like a dumb ox for even thinking about Him putting me on a slippery road.  In Your presence you’ve taken my hand, You wisely and tenderly lead me, and then You bless me.

You are all I want and all I need in heaven and on earth.  When my skin sags and my bones get brittle, God is rock-firm and faithful.  Being with God is refreshing, I have made Him my home and I will tell the world what He really does.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Slippery road, Blind curve?

Leave a Reply

