Can I really say these things?

Relationship Difficulties

 

You might remember me admitting there are times when I see people being spiritual abused that I could quote a few dandy Bible passages about leprosy and right arms being shriveled.  I have toned down a bit probably because I have kept my nose out of people’s business.

In the last few years, my personal character has taken shots but because I am a way out there ENFP and off the scale in the ‘P’ department, I understand the jealousy and misunderstanding that comes from all the other personality types in the Myers-Briggs assessment.

So I was reading Psalm 35 and found a new ‘something’ to pray against people who are heckling me.  It is pretty heavy-duty and not sure I could just pray this out loud but I’m sure on a bad day it’s not a problem.  Here is what David asked God to do —

“When those thugs try to knife me in the back,
make them look foolish.
Frustrate all those
who are plotting my downfall.
Make them like cinders in a high wind,
with God’s angel working the bellows.
Make their road lightless and mud-slick,
with God’s angel on their tails.
Out of sheer cussedness they set a trap to catch me;
for no good reason they dug a ditch to stop me.
Surprise them with your ambush—
catch them in the very trap they set,
the disaster they planned for me.”  – Psalms 35:4-8

Believe it or not, there is even more than this.

At the end of the day though I do not think that David really wanted all these bad things to happen to these bad people – he really wanted God to know that he needed saving and probably needed to hear God say – “I’ll save you.”

I think I will continue to run loose and free celebrating God’s great work – it’s what I do.  Laughing comes naturally – putting in a worship CD and singing to God letting Him know that there is no one like Him is our special time.

That is why I cannot rail against others –  I have been down and out and God put me on my feet and I was the unprotected that He protected from bullies.

So I wait for God’s grace to do the same for them.

 

Leave a Reply

